Apr 21, 2024  
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2021 
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2021 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College of Sciences and Technology

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Sciences and Technology

The College of Sciences and Technology is comprised of seven departments:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry and Forensic Science
  • Engineering Technology
  • Marine and Environmental Science
  • Mathematics
  • Military Science
  • Naval Science

The College offers Bachelor of Science degree programs with majors in Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Marine Sciences, Mathematics, Civil Engineering Technology (ABET Accredited), Computer Science Technology, Electronics Engineering Technology (ABET Accredited), and Mechanical Engineering Technology. The College also offers the Regents’ Engineering Pathway Program (REPP), which enables the students to complete two years of engineering pathway courses at SSU and then transfer to Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia Southern University, Kennesaw State University, Mercer University or the University of Georgia to complete a B.S degree in Engineering. In addition, the College offers Master of Science degrees in Marine Sciences and Mathematics.

The Naval Reserve Officers Training Program gives young men and women the choice of attending college in an academic discipline of their choice while at the same time receiving military training that culminates at being commissioned as military officers in the Navy or Marine Corps upon completion of the baccalaureate degree.

The Army Reserve Officers Training Program enhances a student’s education by providing unique leadership and management training along with practical experience. It helps a student develop many of the qualities basic to success in the Army, or in a civilian career. ROTC gives students a valuable opportunity to build for the future by enabling them to earn a college degree and an officer’s commission at the same time.

Core Curriculum

All students enrolled for the first time must complete the core curriculum, which consists of six areas and includes sixty semester hours of course work.

Numbers in parentheses following course description indicate, in subsequent order, the number of hours of lecture each week, the number of laboratory hours each week and the semester hour credit the course carries.

Students seeking degrees with any major through the College of Sciences and Technology are required to complete the University’s “Core Curriculum”.

Students then select and complete the requirements for a specific major curriculum as described in the appropriate sections of this catalog.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Sciences and Technology